Church of England

Justin Welby inaugurates a new set of Lambeth Awards


On the third anniversary of his installation to the See of Canterbury (and on the 460th anniversary of the martyrdom of Thomas Cranmer; and on the 10th anniversary of the Archbishop Cranmer blog), the Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby, announced a new set of non-academic Lambeth Awards to recognise outstanding service in various fields.

The Lambeth Awards already exist in the form of academic degrees, but hitherto only the Lambeth Cross, the Cross of St Augustine and the Canterbury Cross had been available to honour individuals for non-academic exemplary Christian service. If you weren’t eligible for an honorary doctor of divinity or an MPhil by research, there was no real way of distinguishing honours for diverse ministerial contributions to the mission of the Church. To remedy this, Archbishop Justin has created six new awards, each named after previous archbishops of Canterbury, to recognise outstanding service in his ministry priorities: prayer and the religious life; reconciliation; and evangelism and witness.

The full list of recipients of the 2016 Lambeth Awards:

The Lambeth Cross for Ecumenism
• His Grace, Bishop Angaelos OBE, General Bishop of the Coptic Orthodox Church in the United Kingdom
• His Eminence Archbishop Gregorios of Thyateira and Great Britain
• Canon Simon Stephens OBE RN

The Canterbury Cross for Services to the Church of England
• Mr Peter Beesley
• Dr Philip Giddings
• Dr Sarah Horsman
• Mr Carl Lee
• The Rev’d Canon Bob Mackintosh

Cross of St Augustine for Services to the Anglican Communion
• Professor Salvatore Bordonali
• The Rev’d Canon James Callaway
• The Rev’d Hamdy Daoud
• Bishop Omindo Hilkiah Deya
• Professor Fabiano Di Prima
• Mrs Phyllis Richardson

The Dunstan Award for Prayer and the Religious Life
• Fr Laurent Fabre CCN
• Brother Samuel SSF

The Hubert Walter Award for Reconciliation and Interfaith Cooperation
• Mr Bill Marsh
• Shaykh Ibrahim Mogra
• Sir Andrew Pocock KCMG
• Rabbi Dr David Rosen KSG CBE
• The Rev’d Martin Turner

The Alphege Award for Evangelism and Witness
• Mrs Chrysogon Bamber
• The Rev’d John Coles
• The Rev’d Pamela Cooper
• Deaconess Susan C Essam
• Pastor Agu Irukwu
• Mr Tim Royle

The Lanfranc Award for Education and Scholarship
• Mr David Day
• Miss Maureen Hogarth
• Dr Eeva John

The Langton Award for Community Service
• Canon Sir Tony Baldry
• Bishop Geoffrey Davies
• The Rev’d Joel Edwards
• The Venerable Duncan Green
• The Venerable Arthur Hawes
• Sir Hector Sants

The Cranmer Award for Worship
• Canon Dr James Lancelot
• Dr Philip Moore
• Mr Matt Redman
• Mr Michael Williams

The awards will be conferred up recipients in a ceremony at Lambeth Palace on 31st March. Archbishop Justin said: “It will be a huge honour and joy to confer these awards upon such an extraordinary and diverse group of people. The recipients come from many walks of life and many parts of the world, but all have served in their fields with distinction and self-sacrificial service, going beyond the call of duty. I hope and pray that the ceremony on 31st March will be an opportunity for us to honour them and give thanks to God for their gifts, which have been such a blessing to the church and to the world.”

It’s about time the Church of England established its own suite of honours. The new Lambeth Awards recognise not only Anglicans but Christians from other denominations, along with adherents of other faiths. These are nothing to do with ‘Power Lists‘; or whether or not you played tennis with the Prime Minister while you were at Oxford; or you arranged for £40k worth of election expenses to be billed to your home address; or you managed to work a couple of convenient miracles after your death. Political patronage, popularity, celebrity and ‘Santo Subito’ superstition give way to mission honours with humility and integrity.

The next step would be for the Lambeth Awards to be open for nominations, as the Lambeth Degrees are (and the #CranmerList Top 100 UK Christians are). That will necessitate an enhanced ‘Awards and Examinations’ department at Lambeth Palace to complement the solitary sifting, sorting and discerning of the Rev’d Cortland Fransella.

And in terms of nominees for 2017, perhaps we might kick off with the Rt Hon Ann Widdecombe, who still isn’t in the House of Lords..